moving along…

I’ve taken a hiatus from posting for the last week or so, and in the meantime, I’ve actually gotten a lot done on the prospectus.  The plan is to turn in the document this week.  My defense date is only one month away!  I also realized that the defense date is March 15…the ides of March!  I hope my best friend (or anyone for that matter) doesn’t stab me to death on the day! 

The work I’ve completed over the last week includes redoing the introduction and the research questions.  I wrote the questions in narrative style, so I no longer have 1) 2) 3), etc, but instead paragraphs articulating the questions and giving context for them.  I’m liking it a lot more than previous versions.  I’ve also gone through and planned methods for data collection and analysis.  This is foreign-ish territory to me, as the only study I’ve ever conducted that had official “methods” is the pilot qualitative study I did last semester for a course.  I’ve read many articles that have an official “methods” section though, so I’m drawing from that knowledge in part.  Today I wrote a conclusion, which was basically a summary section of all that came before.  I’m not sure how proposal documents actually end: now I’m going off to do this?  Please say yes?  haha. 

I’m meeting with some colleagues tomorrow to get feedback on my first 4 pages.  I hope that my study and rationale is clear right from the opening, so that’s what we’ll discuss. 

I do have in the draft right now a “sample analysis” section that is supposed to be a video.  I think I will spend some time this afternoon making something and see if I think it could fit there.  Otherwise the sample analysis can be regular old paragraphs, too, like I did in my qual study paper last fall. 

Onward!

One thought on “moving along…

  1. I made the video and can insert a low quality version into a PDF version of my written document easily. Now I’ll have to go back and rewrite the section around where the video goes and get everything ready and revised to send off. Then the last step will be to embed the video into the document.

Leave a Reply

