Defend!

Since my last post, I met with one of my committee members and one of my co-chairs and discussed the differing perspectives I’ve been receiving.  One of them told me that part of the prospectus defense is actually defending the kind of study I want to do for the committee (shocking, I know).  The point being that it’s normal (esp. with 5 committee members) for a few not to agree with everything completely, and part of my job in the written document and in the defense will be for me to make a case to do the study the way I want to and think is best.

Sooooo…..I’m going with having other instructors implement my unit, I think, unless something major happens to change my mind.  I think the pilot work I’ve done in my own classroom over the past 3 years has prepared me enough to be able to design a specific, useful unit that others can implement.

So back I went to working on the prospectus.  Today I really dug into the conceptual framework section and changed a lot.  I’m grappling with if and how I want to try and include my assessment model in the paper as a “pedagogical model” or something.

I’m going to work tomorrow and see if I can get the CF mapped out and start working on the actual unit that I would implement in a classroom.  So tonight…to bed and rest, and hopefully to rise early tomorrow and get back to it.

Leave a Reply

