In the Lit. Review trenches

Sorry no dress pics today.  I worked on my Lit. Review for several hours and avoided most things wedding.  My main issue with the lit review  is that I have so many parts to the section, it’s hard for me to keep them all straight.  Also, I’ve pulled paragraphs from several course papers and exams that I’ve written over the last two years, so I’m also having a hard time weaving everything together into something coherent.

For example, I know that instruction in new media composition has something to do with all the following: transfer and meta-awareness literature (Wardle, Jaratt, etc); definitions of writing and composition and new media; Selber’s multiliteracies framework; learning-by-doing/social learning theory,; metalanguage for new media; reflection….

You see the problem.  How to put all of that together and transition between in a way that makes sense.  One of my committee members told me last week though that I can have some gaps in the prospectus and that those can be worked out in the diss itself.  So that’s comforting, although I want to keep everything straight in my head and understand how I can think of all these pieces aiming toward one goal.

Tomorrow = finish lit. review and figure out what the heck my conceptual framework is supposed to be.

Leave a Reply

