Unproductivity

Well, I lined up some ducks today, but didn’t actually work on my prospectus much.  I emailed both of my co-chairs and set up a meeting with one and sent the other my materials.  I also found several articles on the transfer of learning in the writing classroom that I need to read: “Pedagogical Memory” 09 by Jarrett et al and “Steps Beyond the First Year” 2010 by Frazier.  Both articles speak to meta-awareness about writing and how students take what they’ve learned in the writing course beyond to other writing contexts.  So first up, I need to read these and incorporate them into my Lit review.  I also saw on a friend’s Facebook post that Jody Shipka has a new book I need to read: Toward a Composition Made Whole, so I’m excited to get that and look at it.   

The rest of my day was taken up with teaching and conferencing with my new students.  I like to have them come by my office near the beginning of the term so I can get to know them a bit more one on one.  So I met with students all afternoon – not a waste of time by any means, but I didn’t do much in between meetings except check email and Facebook. 

Here’s hoping tomorrow will be a bit more productive in the prospectus dept.

One thought on “Unproductivity

Leave a Reply

